In Other Noose…

Compilations and Complications

Dam fine day

Folding Bike at Surry DamOnce upon a time, there was a little bike that could. It could go around and around and around and was way more efficient and practical that anything else in the whole town, folding up and fitting in places where no other bike would fit. Plus, the person riding it could get in shape, and didn’t waste any money on gas.

This is that story.

Since this is the month of July, and since it was a glorious day, I decided to go exploring. I had heard about a couple of nice walks in the woods near where I live, so I made the trip out to Goose Pond in northern Keene. It was lovely, except for the bugs, which were biting me quite a lot. It was about a 5 mile trip to that point, and a nice, 2 mile walk around the perimeter of the pond, with sunny areas, shady paths and soggy bogs.

I left Goose Pond and traveled up the road to the Surry Mountain Dam in Surry. It was glorious. I got some good pictures of my trusty Citizen Bike Miami, which I truly do love riding, at least now that everything is just about perfect on it; the seatpost no longer slips down, the handlebars have a wide variety of gripping positions, and there are practically no rattles or vibrations of any kind.

Anyway, I took a spin across the dam and back, ate lunch on the hill, read a little, relaxed and headed home through town, having a delicious red, white and blueberry pie for desert. I can heartily recommend it.

A rehearsal tonight, concerts on Saturday and Sunday, and I still desperately need to find employment. As you can tell by my trip today, there are some things that are a little bit more important to me, though. I shall enjoy it while I can.

In other news:

  • Ikea is, I believe, Swedish. They are also pretty cheap. The people over at Ikea Hackers make their cheap Swedish furniture more functional. It is a fun and enjoyable read.
  • How We Drive is the blog of Tom Vanderbilt, who wrote Traffic (read it, it is good). He occasionally posts videos of fun things to do with cars, instead of sad things. This is a Fun Thing.
  • Ahh, it seems to be that summer and oil spills just go together. Sadly.

Fire, Fire, Fire!

July 7, 2011 - Posted by | Daily Meanderings |

No comments yet.

Leave a comment